Skip to main content

Sokel Prize

Walter H. Sokel Essay Prize Winners:

Lincoln Day "the 2024 Walter H. Sokel Prize" 

Eli Boone "the Special 2024 Kafka Centenary Sokel Prize" 

Thanks to a generous grant from Prof. Walter H. Sokel (1917-2014), the German Department is offering a prize of $350 to the best essay of at least 3,500 words on German literature or culture. The essay may be in English or German. Students may submit revised and/or expanded essays completed for classes taught by the German Department.

Entries should be submitted to Professor Lorna Martens of the German Department by April 22, 2024.